Increased Agitation

Met with Anna today and talked with her about the Medi-Cal letter. She was very upset thinking that they would take $1600 out of her account every month. I explained it to her repeatedly, but she is unable to understand how Medi-Cal works with Medicare and Medi-Gap coverage. She was very agitated about them “stealing” her money. This ties into the difficulties she had with Social Security years ago and with the delusions she has about people stealing from her now. 

Sadly, she told me today that someone stole her Burberry scarf, which she liked very much. She feels this theft as a personal affront, which surely feeds into her stress about Medi-Cal. 

I tried to calm her best as I could, still she was very upset. I explained repeatedly, heard her concerns, tried to console her, assured her that they would not simply take the money from her account. 

Nothing helped until, when I was hugging her, I hummed a little lullaby in her ear and it was like it flipped a switch when she recognized the tune. Then we could converse about other things. 

She told me about a dream that she had that was “not created by the dreamer,” about eating a bowl with sour cream and a yellow garlic like a flower with kale underneath. 

She also told me that she questions my motivations. She asked me if I was paying for her storage units and where the money was coming from to pay for them. I told her I was and I believe I was able to reassure her on that score. 

I told her when I left that I would look into other option like Medi-Gap coverage and she accepted that. 

Leave a Reply

